I'VE BEEN SERVED

My Daily Journal in Federal Prison

Day 98

Tonight I saw the moon the way it was meant to be seen:  fully pregnant against the backdrop of night.  Don’t ever take this for granted.  Gazing up at the night sky is one of those few activities you can do together with your loved ones…even when you are hundreds of miles apart.

I’m nearly 100 days into my sentence and I haven’t really seen the stars and the moon as often as I’d like…hardly at all.  The long days of Summer and our nightly recall from the Rec Yard at 8:30 p.m. typically tucks me away within my cold, white cinderblocked Unit, right before the night comes out to play.  But tonight, just prior to our 10:00 p.m. stand-up count, I peered out of my window (an amenity lacking from my previous cube) and was held captive by that voluptious body of celestial light.  My window faces east, unobstructed by man-made structures, so I’m often treated to phenomenal sun-ups…but the moon can rarely be seen from my window.  So this was a special treat.

For once, I’m actually looking forward to the time when the days grow short.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

